RI clinches CCAB C Div title

  • News
  • 15 Nov 2016

Cricket development amongst the youth was in full evidence at the Balestier grounds with supporters from the 4 participating schools in full strength cheering for their teams with full throttle. It was a sight to behold with around 500 supporters from ACS, RI, Victoria and St. Patricks Schools egging on their boys.

The cricket displayed was of  high quality standard displayed by these juniors. The finals went to the wire with RI just managing to pip ACS(Independent) by 3 wickets to become deserving winners of the CCAB National C Division champions.

RI put ACS(Independent) into bat after winning the toss. RI bowlers bowled a tight line and kept taking wickets at regular intervals. The ACS boys have themselves to blame as they kept throwing their wickets after getting set. ACS(Independent) managed 77 runs for 6 wickets in their 20 overs. Skipper Ishan and Asuthosh scored 12 runs each while Vinit was unbeaten on 12. Rahul and Ravi Kiran bowled very well and took 2 wickets each for RI.

It appeared a comfortable chase for RI when they started off. They started sedately and were 36 for 1 and looked like coasting. But the ACS(Independent) bowlers fought back by taking some quick wickets. The spinners Vinit, Ishan and Asutosh bowled very tight putting pressure on the batsman. Ravi Kiran came in to bat and immediately started to attack the bowlers. The ACS(Independent) bowlers buckled under the pressure and bowled a few loose balls which were punished by Ravi Kiran.  

RI were deserving winners of the C Division title.

Brief Scores:

ACS(Independent) 77for 6 in 20 overs. Ishan Paulsawney 12, Asutosh Shetty 12, Vinit Mehta 12 NO. Rahul Nambiar 2/18, Ravi Kiran 2/12.

RI 78 for 7 in 18.3 overs. Aryan Bahde 14, Hriday 14, ravi Kiran 22 NO. Asutosh 2/17, Vinit Mehta 2/7, Ishan 2/12.

RI won by 3 wickets.

In the match played for 3rd place Victoria School won by 27 runs.

St Patrick’s won the toss and elected to field. Yash Agarwal batted outstandingly for Victoria top scoring with 45. Chandra Mouli scored 14. St. Patrick’s openers started well with an opening partnership of 50 runs. But there after they started to lose wickets and ended up with 89 for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. Sohail 20, Aravindan 19 and Arjun 18 were the run getters for St. Patrick’s. Raja claimed 3/20 for Victoria.

Brief Scores:

Victoria 114/5 in 20 overs. Yash Agarwal 45, Chandra Mouli 14, Anish 12.

St. Patrick’s 89/7 IN 20 Overs. Amir Sohail 20, Arvindhan 19, Sai Arjun 18 NO. Raja 3/20.

Victoria won by 27 runs.

Mr. Adolphus Tan, Principal St. Patrick School was the guest of honour and gave away the trophies to all the 4 teams. Mr. Irwan thanked the organisers SCA, IA and CSC grounds, match officials, teachers and Schools for contributing to the successful completion of the tournament.

RI captain Hriday receiving the winners trophy

RI team photo

ACS team photo 

ACS captain Ishan receiving runners up trophy

latest news stories

View All

latest score

Point Table

2018 SCA Club League

View All